There's good reason to be cautious when driving through Virginia, New Jersey, and Georgia! These states have traffic laws that can really hit you where it hurts after the holiday season: your wallet.
In parts of Virginia you may see a maximum speed limit posted for 70 miles per hour but do note to keep a careful eye on your speedometer! Going just 11 miles over the maximum 70 miles per hour limit could leave you facing a fine of $2,500 and a possible sentence of up to 1 year in jail. This may come as a pretty big shock to most people around the country accustomed to laxer enforcement of speeding around 10 miles per hour over the speed limit.
For slower speed zones in Virginia you can’t be hit with a reckless charge nearly as easily. You must be traveling at least 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit to face the same charges as crossing the 80 mile per hour threshhold. For example, in a 40 miles per hour zone you must be going at least 60 miles per hour to qualify earning a citation for a reckless driving charge.
In the state of New Jersey you may be charged double the fines for “racing,” whether or not that was your intent at all! In this state racing is defined as going 10 miles per hour over the speed limit. Racing to work could carry even more risk! This oddly strict law gives the authorities the ability to effectively double almost every speeding ticket fine they dole out. Statute 39:4-98.6
In Georgia there is a “Super Speeder” law enacted to increase fines $200 for anyone caught driving 75 miles per hour or greater on a two lane highway or 85 or above on any road in the state of Georgia. Speeding may be priced out to be more expensive than it is worth at this rate for many Georgians with eventual suspensions of their licenses for non-payment of this super speeding fine. If you’re driving out of state and think you can get away with non-payment of this Super Speeder fine think again because the Georgia Department of Transportation will send your state a letter asking for your license to be revoked in the state you reside as well! Statute 40-6-189
Check out more laws about what defines reckless driving and first time speeding offenses on the ATLAS app, available in the Google Play store!