Want Immunity for Underage Drinking? In Texas, Just Talk to a Title IX Rep

Want Immunity for Underage Drinking? In Texas, Just Talk to a Title IX Rep

Several outlets picked up on the fact that laws passed in Texas earlier in the year now allowed for openly carrying swords, banned texting while driving, and had several other assorted effects, but one thing that was virtually unreported when it became effective was a small but significant change to the State’s underage drinking laws.

Why fines are always higher than you expect

Why fines are always higher than you expect

As more laws are passed it gets easier to add more and more fines onto the original offense without much notice.  Case in point – one week ago on March 24th, 2017 the Governor of Tennessee signed a law which effectively increased the maximum fine for possessing less than a half ounce of marijuana by 10%, doubling the minimum fine at the same time.

What States Can Someone Use Deadly Force through “Stand Your Ground” "Castle Doctrine," or “Make my Day” Laws?

What States Can Someone Use Deadly Force through “Stand Your Ground” "Castle Doctrine," or “Make my Day” Laws?

There are many reports nationwide on deadly force self defense shootings in the media, but do you personally know your state’s stance on self defense with a deadly weapon?

Dodging the 5th - How States Get Self Incrimination for DUIs

Dodging the 5th - How States Get Self Incrimination for DUIs

The notion that driving is a privilege subject to the whims of the State and not a protected right has taken a firm hold.  By threatening to revoke a 'privilege' instead of a 'right', such as your liberty by throwing you in jail or your property by assessing a fine, failure to comply is not technically a crime and thus, being compelled to provide blood, urine or breath samples does not violate your 'right' to not incriminate yourself.

Is it really legal to carry weapons in bars?

Is it really legal to carry weapons in bars?

One question I’ve been hearing more lately in the wake of recent shootings at bars, nightclubs and music festivals is whether its legal to carry a concealed weapon into those places for protection.  As usual with these questions, the answer is “it varies”.


While alcohol and firearms don’t mix, there are plenty of people who go to concerts, shows and other venues where alcohol is served without drinking.  Designated drivers immediately come to mind.  How each state addresses these situations is influenced by several types of laws.

Can minor offenses mean permanently losing gun rights? The answer may shock you

Someone loses gun rights for a first DUI in Massachusetts, but can possess pounds of marijuana without facing this risk.  Yet in Arizona one can basically never lose your gun rights for a simple DUI no matter how habitually convicted, while possession of any amount of marijuana there will trigger this loss.

The risk of flying with marijuana depends mostly on the state you depart

The risk of flying with marijuana depends mostly on the state you depart

Bringing marijuana through airport security and onto commercial aircraft seems to be extremely risky business. The penalty for bringing between four and 14 grams of marijuana into Georgia is a mandatory minimum term of 5 years in jail and a fine of $50,000. This can be a terrifying prospect to the average high flying marijuana tourist. But Georgia doesn’t search fliers after they land at their destination and are headed out of the airport so what is the penalty for someone caught with the substance before they fly there?